The Kentucky Fried Movie

1h 30m 1977

Brief Synopsis

A series of loosely connected skits that spoof news programs, commercials, porno films, kung fu films, disaster films, blaxploitation films, spy films, mafia films, and the fear that somebody is watching you on the other side of the TV.

Film Details

Also Known As
Kentucky Fried Movie
MPAA Rating
Release Date

Technical Specs

1h 30m
Color (DeLuxe)
Theatrical Aspect Ratio
1.85 : 1


Writers David and Jerry Zucker and Jim Abrahams got their start when they formed a theatrical group known as The Kentucky Fried Theater. "The Kentucky Fried Movie" is based on the KFT's gag-filled theatrical skits. Including well-known stars such as Bill Bixby, Donald Sutherland, Tony Dow, George Lazenby and Henry Gibson, the film has over 22 different segments of varying lengths. Longer segments include such highlights as: "Zinc Oxide," which spoofs school educational films, "Catholic High School Girls In Trouble" and "A Fistful of Yen," which is an elaborate spoof of martial arts films.


Norman Tse

Garcia Lee

Rick Gates

Ingrid Wang

Anne Crawford

Robert Kent

Bob Harland

Mallory Sandler

David Zucker

Donald Sutherland

Michael Laurence

Victoria Carroll

Ellen Regan

Manny Perry

Vera Stough

Emmanuel Amit

Mary Harland

Tony Dow

Barry Dennen

George Kee Cheung

Shadoe Stevens


Rollin Moriyama

Michael D Hanks

Saul Kahan

Patrick Strong

Wayne Walls

Michael Alaimo

John Anthony Bailey

Henry Gibson


Jim Abrahams

Alberto Issacs

Henry Gibson


George Lazenby

Nancy Mann

Newell Alexander

March Goldman

Michael L Mcmanus

Ron Russ


Eileen Lum

Joseph G Medalis

Evan Kim

Tara Strohmeier

Jackie Kaufman

Dena Boehms

David Wang

Dulcie Jordon

Richard Barrett

John Leoning

Bill Bixby


Marcus Mukai

Evelyn Louato

Christopher Hanks

Stephen Stucker

David Colver

Won Seo

William Tregoe

Young Hwang

Stephen Bishop

Colin Male


John Landis

Kim Lee

Agneta Eckemyr

Chong Lee

Arthur Song

Kim Weiskopf

Linda Inglstad


Nancy Steen

Bob Holt


Oanh Samora

Nathan Jung

Mike Dalbert

Dovie Boehms

Johnny Vanek

Janice Kent

Felix Silla

Phillip Rhee

Lenka Novak

Sheila Tan

Eric Micklewood

Jerry Zucker

Boni Enten

Jack Roberts

Neil Thompson

Armand Cerami

Richard A Baker

Tony Gaznick

Ed Griffith

Maria Adams

Simon Rhee

Bill Bixby


Howard Nemo

Bill Breslau

Dong Lim

Gwen Van Dam

Katherine Wooten

Marilyn Joe

Reuben Soto

Robert Starr

Betsy Genson

Derek Murcott

Steve Lee

Pugil Kwon

Shirley Levine

Uschi Digart

Michael Kearns

Sheila Rogers

Sharon Kaough

Ross Durfee

Hee Ill Choi

Jesse Emmett

Eloise Hardt

Gary S Gayle

Chris Abbott

Tad Horino

Mike Harland

Bob Weiss


Larry Curan

Charlie Dougherty

Peggy Doyle

Arnold Weiss

Bong Soo Han

Jeff Maxwell

Paul M Basta


Ron Ganz


Leonny Marorada

Dick Yarmy

Film Details

Also Known As
Kentucky Fried Movie
MPAA Rating
Release Date

Technical Specs

1h 30m
Color (DeLuxe)
Theatrical Aspect Ratio
1.85 : 1


Now take him to be tortured!
- Klahn
Here at our multi-billion dollar refinery in Fairbanks, we're extracting 2.5 billion barrels of crude oil each day from teenagers' faces.
- Argon Spokesman
This is Buttkiss, Klahn's bodyguard - he is tough and ruthless. This is Kwong, Klahn's chauffeur - he is rough and toothless.
- Pennington
The popcorn you are eating has been pissed in. More at eleven.
- Newscaster
I'm not wearing any pants. Film at eleven.
- Newscaster


In the "Feel-a-rama" movie theatre, there is a poster advertising _Schlock (1971)_ , also directed by John Landis.

the title of the "Feel-a-Rama" movie.

David Letterman was turned down for the role of the newscaster.

Both Tony Dow and Jerry Mathers were approached about reprising their roles as Wally and the Beaver (from "Leave It to Beaver") for the courtroom sketch. Jerry Mathers declined.

In the "Fistful of Yen" sketch, when Loo first meets Dr. Klahn, the Chinese characters start speaking in Korean.

Miscellaneous Notes

Released in United States Winter January 1, 1977

John Landis has a bit part in the episode "AM Today."

Released in United States Winter January 1, 1977